India v England 7th ODI…passing thoughts

Freddie needs to get a life…and he probably needs to get down to earth.

Of course, I am saying this a few overs after Dravid and Tendulkar got the boot from Aleem Daar (no hard feelings towards Aleem…everyone makes mistakes. It doesnt matter what the consequences of those mistakes are…its like Gibbs dropping Steve Waugh in the WC…huge mistake, but it is still only a mistake).

What gets my goat, though, is the number of times dear Freddie gets away hurling abuses at his opponents. I remember him getting the wicket of Harbhajan Singh in the famous Natwest final in 2002. You could read his lips clearly (more so in the slow-mos) “F**k off !”. I was watching the recording of the match and I later went to check on the news how he was penalized. Guess what …. the incident wasn’t even mentioned by anyone !

As I watch this game, I see Freddie talk to Uthappa just after the umpire (Aleem Daar !) turned down a caught-behind appeal .. sort of telling him that he should have walked. (Of course, the omni-present Pieterson was there to give some gyaan to Indian batsmen. Pieterson, by thhe way, is fast turning into another Freddie…getting away with nonsense on the field. Tell me, how much was he penalized for the jelly-bean thing ?)

Freddie is good…good with the bat..better with the ball. But I believe he almost has the attitude that he is the best around. I like attitude…but I dislike haughtiness. It disgusts me.

If I were Barkha Dutt from NDTV, I would write: “Here is my disgust. Where’s yours ?”

Update: Utthapa out … and England did not even need the help of Aleem Daar !

Leave a Reply

